5 Types of Government Health Insurance Schemes in India

It is a Central or State Government powered scheme that is designed to provide adequate health cover at a low-priced insurance cover. Such health insurance policies are usually offered on a yearly basis.

Types of Government Health Insurance Scheme

1. Ayushman Bharat Yojana

PMJAY was launched to provide free healthcare services to more than 40% population of the country. The scheme offers a health cover of Rs 5 Lakh.

2. Pradhan Mantri Suraksha Bima Yojana

People in the age group of 18 years to 70 years who have an account in a bank can avail benefit from this scheme.

This policy provides an annual cover of Rs 2 lakh for total disability and death cover and Rs 1 lakh for partial disability.

3. Employment State Insurance Scheme

This insurance scheme commences upon the first day of insurable employment to each and every worker. They are provided with full medical care insurance for themselves and their families as well.

4. Aam Aadmi Bima Yojana (AABY)

It basically covers individuals from the age of 18 years-59 years.  AABY insurance scheme is tailored for all those citizens living in the upcountry and in the rural areas. It also covers the landless citizens who are tenants living both in urban and rural areas. It also includes giving scholarships to underprivileged children.

5. Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS)

his scheme has the following main components: All dispensary related services including domiciliary care. In addition, the beneficiaries of this scheme have the privilege of being hospitalized each and every time they fall ill.

Follow our channel to know about health insurance or more details